EU Releases Tax Haven Blacklist:

The FCPA Blog | By: Richard L. Cassin | December 07, 2017:

The European Union Tuesday named 17 countries and territories to its first-ever blacklist of tax havens.

Forty-seven other countries were grey-listed but have committed to meeting EU standards.

The EU designated a country or territory as a “non-cooperative jurisdiction” primarily by measuring the transparency of its tax regime, its tax rates, and whether it has agreed to make improvements.

The EU said a nominal or zero tax rate didn’t automatically land a country or territory on the blacklist. But it was “a relevant factor” to consider.

To read full article – detailing countries concerned – please click here.